Self-Help Databases

Coursera

Coursera is an education company that partners with the top universities and organizations in the world to offer courses online for anyone to take, for free. Our technology enables our partners to teach millions of students rather than hundreds. -From www.coursera.org

Glassdoor.com

Glassdoor.com is a comprehensive career resource with information on thousands of companies. Glassdoor includes salary, bonuses, and other details for specific jobs at specific companies, as well as actual interview questions and hiring process details. Also included are reviews written by employees that highlight the pros and cons of working for a particular employer.

Khan Academy

Khan Academy is an organization on a mission. We're a not-for-profit with the goal of changing education for the better by providing a free world-class education for anyone anywhere.  All of the site's resources are available to anyone. It doesn't matter if you are a student, teacher, home-schooler, principal, adult returning to the classroom after 20 years, or a friendly alien just trying to get a leg up in earthly biology. Khan Academy's materials and resources are available to you completely free of charge. -from www.khanacademy.org

Learning Express

Learning Express provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. The first time you use this database, you will need to choose a username and password.

Mango Languages

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages including Spanish, English, French, Japanese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Italian, and dozens more! Mango is free to use but you must create an account to log in. Your account will help you track your progress.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

This is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection contains full text for more than 560 journals.
Resume Builder from HowToWriteAResume.net

This website includes tips and tools to plan, write, and format your resume.

Tech Help from the Colorado Virtual Library

Technology is becoming more central to everything we do. From learning arithmetic, to landing your first job or launching your second career, you'll find a certain level of technological skill is a must. Libraries across Colorado have been helping learners of all ages get the computer skills they need for decades, and this collection is focused on bringing together great resources from across Colorado Libraries that will help you get started on the path to honing your tech skills. In time, we'll be adding richer, more engaging e-learning content developed by our in-house staff of talented tech trainers.

Tools for Tough Times from the Colorado Virtual Library

The nationwide economic downturn has not spared Colorado, and we know a lot of you are working hard to make the best of difficult situations. The Colorado State Library's Samantha Hager has led the way in gathering together resources to help you make these tough times a little more manageable. If you're in need of food, shelter, healthcare, or help managing unemployment, you'll find some great ideas here.  In addition, we're happy to be able to provide access to a great job hunting guide created by the staff of the Denver Public Library. Over time, we plan to add some more detailed resources on small business start up, personal finance, and more.

Universal Class

Universal Class offers hundreds of online classes taught by dedicated instructors sharing their knowledge on almost any imaginable topic. From technology to business to do it yourself, Universal Class has something for everyone.

To use Universal Class, you must first set up an account.

Virtual Colorado Workforce Center

The Virtual Workforce Center at the Library is your online job search toolkit brought to you by the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment and the Garfield County Libraries. From the main page you may link to these services:

  • Search job listings;
  • Create a resume;
  • Locate social services including services for veterans and persons with disabilities, energy and food assistance, and child support services;
  • Find skills training;
  • File for unemployment and/or check on your UI (unemployment insurance) account; and
  • Locate a Workforce Center.