Education Databases

AskColorado

AskColorado is an online information service provided by Colorado libraries. Chat live with a librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week (except major holidays). AskColorado is a human-powered search engine for all Colorado students and residents.

Coursera

Coursera is an education company that partners with the top universities and organizations in the world to offer courses online for anyone to take, for free. Our technology enables our partners to teach millions of students rather than hundreds. -From www.coursera.org

edX
Khan Academy

Khan Academy is an organization on a mission. We're a not-for-profit with the goal of changing education for the better by providing a free world-class education for anyone anywhere.  All of the site's resources are available to anyone. It doesn't matter if you are a student, teacher, home-schooler, principal, adult returning to the classroom after 20 years, or a friendly alien just trying to get a leg up in earthly biology. Khan Academy's materials and resources are available to you completely free of charge. -from www.khanacademy.org

Kids Search

Kids Search is designed to help elementary and middle school students with research. Students may browse by topic, or access the dictionary, encyclopedia, or image library. Topics include Animals, Arts & Music, Geography, Health, In the News, Language Arts, Math, Science, Social Studies, and Sports. There are resources for teachers, too.

Learning Express

Learning Express provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. The first time you use this database, you will need to choose a username and password.

Mango Languages

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages including Spanish, English, French, Japanese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Italian, and dozens more! Mango is free to use but you must create an account to log in. Your account will help you track your progress.

Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus contains more than 150 popular middle school magazines as well as thousands of biographies and historical essays.  Additionally, Middle Search Plus includes primary source documents including essential documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia; New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd Edition; Encyclopedia of Animals™; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags. 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (OVIC) is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. OVIC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search for educators and homeschooling parents with content correlated to the standards.

Points of View Reference Center

 Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.

Primary Search

 Primary Search contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, and features the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.

Searchasaurus

Searchasaurus is a research tool for children in elementary school. Research topics including Animals, Art and Music, Health and History, People and Places, Science and Math, Sports, and Stories.

Student Research Center

The Student Research Center is an online research tool created especially for high school and middle school students. Search magazines, books and articles, biographies, newspapers and radio transcripts.

TED Ed

TED-Ed’s commitment to creating lessons worth sharing is an extension of TED’s mission of spreading great ideas. Within the growing TED-Ed video library, you will find carefully curated educational videos, many of which represent collaborations between talented educators and animators nominated through the TED-Ed platform. This platform also allows users to take any useful educational video, not just TED's, and easily create a customized lesson around the video. Users can distribute the lessons, publicly or privately, and track their impact on the world, a class, or an individual student. -From the TED Ed website

TOPICsearch

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

TOPICsearch contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
TumbleBooks

TumbleBooks is an online collection of animated, talking picture books with unlimited remote access from the library and home. The collection includes animated books, educational games, Spanish and French books, plus the ability to navigate the entire site in other languages such as Spanish.  Many books are now available for the iPad!

Universal Class

Universal Class offers hundreds of online classes taught by dedicated instructors sharing their knowledge on almost any imaginable topic. From technology to business to do it yourself, Universal Class has something for everyone.

To use Universal Class, you must first set up an account.

World Book Encyclopedia

World Book Encyclopedia Online is a reference source containing every article from the print set plus thousands more. It has state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor-reviewed Web sites and much more. The site also contains the World Book Online Reference Center, World Book Advanced, World Book Kids and a Spanish Language Encyclopedia.