Travel Databases

BBC News Country Profiles

From the BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation), this excellent site provides information on countries and international organizations.

Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

Countries and Their Cultures

 Learn about cultures across the U.S. and the world. Cultures and countries are organized both alphabetically and by region of the globe.

Global Road Warrior

Global Road Warrior is a database of cultural and geographical information for 175 countries around the world. The page for any given country includes information in the categories of demographics, culture, business and trade, travel, maps, and more. This is a great resource for learning about other countries whether you are planning a trip, researching a school paper, or just want to take a trip around the world without leaving home.


International Issues from NewsBank
International Issues from NewBank

Find news on International Issues from NewsBank.

Leisure Activities from NewsBank
Leisure Activities from NewsBank

Find information on Leisure Activities from our NewsBank database.

Mango Languages

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages including Spanish, English, French, Japanese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Italian, and dozens more! Mango is free to use but you must create an account to log in. Your account will help you track your progress. 

There are also free apps for Apple and Android so you can learn a new language on the go.

Download the Mango app for iPhone

Download the Mango app for Android

National Geographic Kids: Explore Countries of the World

 Learn about people, places, and interesting trivia from around the world on the National Geographic Kids' Countries webpage.

Travel.State.Gov from the U.S. Department of State

This database from the U.S. Department of State provides country specific information for every country of the world.  It is great for people planning on traveling internationally or those wanting to learn more about current political and social conditions in a specific nation.

In this database, you will find information like the location of the U.S. embassy and any consular offices; whether you need a visa; crime and security information; health and medical conditions; drug penalties; and localized hot spots. 

World Book Online
World Book

Access all of our World Book databases including:

  • World Book Kids
  • World Book Student
  • World Book Advanced
  • World Book Timelines
  • Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
World Book Kids
World Book Kids

World Book Kids is the premier online resource developed especially for young users. The site has been optimized for tablets and features image-based navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of images and videos as well as a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities.

World Book Kids features:
* A variety of simple search and browse navigation options
* Thousands of easy-to-read articles with embedded multimedia
* Engaging images, illustrations, videos, maps, and animations
* More than 50 challenging games across five subject areas
* A tool for exploring and comparing animals and places
* An Important People feature to help students search and browse through thousands of biographies
* A collection of age-appropriate science projects and activities
* An atlas, interactive maps, and outline maps and flags
* Teacher resources

World Factbook from the CIA

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map. 

-Description from