Nature Databases

Fuel Economy Guide

 The Fuel Economy Guide from the U.S. Department of Energy provides fuel economy estimates, energy and environmental impact ratings, fuel saving tips, and other useful information for vehicles from 1984 to the present.

GreenFILE

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

Science Reference Center

 Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.

Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
U.S. Dept. of Energy: Rifle Uranium Sites

 The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has prepared a Data Validation Package, dated June 2010, containing the groundwater and surface water monitoring data generated from the November 2009 sampling event at the Old and New Rifle Processing Sites (those are the official DOE names for the uranium mill tailing sites located near Rifle). The package includes worksheets and reports that document the sampling activities and validation procedures conducted.  Click on the U.S. Dept. of Energy: Rifle Uranium Sites link above to go to the DOE's main page for information on the Rifle sites. The direct link to the June 2010 report is http://www.LM.doe.gov/Rifle/S01109_RFO.pdf.

World Book Encyclopedia

World Book Encyclopedia Online is a reference source containing every article from the print set plus thousands more. It has state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor-reviewed Web sites and much more. The site also contains the World Book Online Reference Center, World Book Advanced, World Book Kids and a Spanish Language Encyclopedia.