History Databases

Ancestry - Library Edition

THIS RESOURCE IS AVAILABLE FOR USE ONLY AT THE LIBRARY.

Ancestry Library Edition delivers over 4 billion records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more for individuals from North America, Europe, Australia, and more.

Answers await everyone - whether professional or hobbyist, expert or novice, genealogist, or historian - inside the more than 4,000 available databases. Here, you can unlock the story of you with sources like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more.

And, with ongoing updates and new content always being added, you'll keep coming back to discover more.

BBC News Country Profiles

From the BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation), this excellent site provides information on countries and international organizations.

Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection

This project from the Colorado State Library includes digital copies of more than 60 Colorado newspapers, dating from the 1850s to the 1920s. The database includes thousands of articles, graphics, letters to the editor and advertisements.

Colorado Histories from the Colorado Virtual Library

Colorado Histories from the Colorado Virtual Library has amassed a collection of some 50 biographies of famous Coloradans, many enriched by beautiful archival images from theDenver Public Library. Over time, they will add more bios, sketches of historical events, maps, oral histories, videos, and more.  

Countries and Their Cultures

 Learn about cultures across the U.S. and the world. Cultures and countries are organized both alphabetically and by region of the globe.

Heritage Quest

HeritageQuest is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.

History Reference Center

History Reference Center features more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers as well as more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 37,400 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of video.

World Book Kids
World Book Kids

World Book Kids is the premier online resource developed especially for young users. The site has been optimized for tablets and features image-based navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of images and videos as well as a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities.

World Book Kids features:
* A variety of simple search and browse navigation options
* Thousands of easy-to-read articles with embedded multimedia
* Engaging images, illustrations, videos, maps, and animations
* More than 50 challenging games across five subject areas
* A tool for exploring and comparing animals and places
* An Important People feature to help students search and browse through thousands of biographies
* A collection of age-appropriate science projects and activities
* An atlas, interactive maps, and outline maps and flags
* Teacher resources